Week 9 : Attitude of Gratitude . . .

gratitude-1

 

grat·i·tude

[ˈɡradəˌt(y)o͞od]

NOUN
  1. the quality of being thankful; readiness to show appreciation for and to return kindness:

    “she expressed her gratitude to the committee for their support”

    synonyms: gratefulness · thankfulness · thanks · appreciation ·

    [more]

 

Reflecting back on the week

This week was probably one of the best Thanksgiving’s I have ever had . . . through and through.  There are two events in particular that have created an immence attitude of gratitude for life.

Tuesday evening . . .

Don’t really remember too much about the happenings of Tuesday morning and afternoon.   I’m sure I was trying to have positive thoughts and remain as opinion free as possible . . .

gratitude 2 All of that took a back seat at 4:07 PM . . . got the following text from my oldest sister Monica . . .

Just talked to Matt; Kaydee wrecked and is being airlifted to Mission regarding her complaint of head pain.  She was conscious and talking when Matt talked to her while she was being loaded up.  I’m heading out there.

Holy Cow!  My heart did a couple of back flips and cartwheels!  My first response was to send a reply message and ask if she was by herself . . . she has two girls and I wanted to make sure that they weren’t involved in the accident also.  I was relieved to find out that she was by herself.

As the night played out we learned that my sister Kaydee had went to my oldest sister’s house to drop off a couple of Christmas trees before she went grocery shopping and picked her oldest daughter up from basketball practice.  She had left Monica’s house and was on a back country road . . . came around a curve and was met with another driver in her lane.  Kaydee jerked the steering wheel to the right to avoid a head on collision and realized that she had over compensated.  She ended up climbing a bank to the right that resulted in launching her Yukon airborn and caused it to roll head to tail a couple of times.  Fortunately she was wearing her seatbelt and there were plenty of people to witness the end result . . . the vehicle upside down in a ditch on the side of the road.

She definately had her guardian angle with her . . . although she was airlifted to a hospital two hours away, we loaded up the family and drove out to Mission to be by her side.  I’m happy to report that she was discharged about 9:30 PM with a couple of scratches on her hand, a good bruise on her left shoulder, a pounding headache and a piece of glass lodged in her left knuckle.  All in all . . . she was lucky.

Before the accident, plans were in place for Thanksgiving dinner to be at Kaydee’s house on Friday afternoon.  We were still able to have turkey day at Kaydee’s with no interuptions.  If there’s one thing to take from this situation it’s to live each day as if it’s your last . . . it very well could be.

gratitude 3Sunday morning . . .

This morning in church services there were a couple of people that got baptized.  As I’m sitting there watching the whole thing unfold my 4 year old son, Tasker, watches in amazement.  He leans toward me, taps me on the arm and says,  “Mommy, I want to do that  .  .  . ”

By the end of service he got saved so he too could “get dunked in the big tub.”  Just a week prior I was saying a prayer that Tasker would accept Christ as his Lord and Savior and here I was a week later witnessing a little warrior being added to Christ’s roster . . .

Between the two events of the week I would say that my gratitude meter is filled up right now . . .

5 thoughts on “Week 9 : Attitude of Gratitude . . .

Leave a Reply

