Week 11: I will persist like a charging bull . . .

dangerous-black-bull

I was rather facinated with the analogy of persistence in life and the bull in scroll III.  I decided to do a little bit further research into the matter and share what I come up with.

A picador (Spanish pronunciation: [pikaˈðor]; pl. picadores) is one of the pair of horsemen in a Spanish bullfight that jab the bull with a lance.  They perform in the tercio de varas, which is the first of the three stages in a Spanish bullfight.

Function

There are three main functions of the picador:

  1. to pirece the muscle on the back of the bull’s neck in order to straighten the bull’s charge
  2. to fatigue the bull’s neck muscles and general stamina as it tries to lift the horse with its head
  3. to lower the bull’s head in preperation for the next stage

It was interesting to learn that if the public feels as if the picador is overenthusiastic in his lancing they will whistle, boo or jeer as they see fit.  Reason being, they do not want the bull to lose all its strength and energy as this can lead to a dull bullfight.

Furthermore, the picador is obliged to give the bull two lances in a first category bullring, however, the matador may request that the second be waived in second and third category rings.  The bull may receive three lances if it is particularly ferocious.        El Picador

The willingness of the bull to charge the picador is often cited as the biggest test of its courage. A bull that does not charge may be punished with a black banderellia, which although somewhat longer than a normal banderilla is largely symbolic and a mark of shame for the breeder. This is very rare.

Tying it together

In the Orient young bulls are tested for the fight arena in a certain manner.  Each is brought to the ring and allowed to attack a picador who pricks them with a lance.  The bravery of each bull is then rated with care according to the number of times he demonstrates his willingness to charge in spite of the sting of the blade.  Henceforth will I recognize that each day I am tested by life in such manner.  If I persist, if I continue to try, if I continue to charge forward, I will succeed. 

I will persist until I succeed.

I am the charging bull that persistently charges life in such a way that success is the only option.  It is on me to continue in life . . . with persistence.

4 thoughts on “Week 11: I will persist like a charging bull . . .

Leave a Reply

